Plants vs. Zombies Cake & Cupcakes

2 Aug

Plants vs. Zombies Cake & Cupcakes

This is an 8″ butter pound cake covered with fondant icing. I cut out small squares and made a checkerboard on top. If you’re familiar with the game Plants vs. Zombies, you will see that the plants and the zombies battle on top of a checkerboard, too.

Then I cut up different lengths of wooden planks and placed them on the side of the cake. I also got the inspiration from the game itself. And since the celebrant’s request is to have a lot of flowers around her cake, I made different colors of the flowers from the game, too.

For the cupcakes, I made different kinds of plant characters using gum paste. I think I was smiling the whole time I was making this project. Playing Plants vs. Zombies in the computer is one of the things my kids and I enjoy doing together, and they’re very good at it. And in a sense, they know the details of each of the characters. The Β kids were very much involved in the quality control of my gum paste creations. Like for example, if you notice in the picture above I missed the sensor on top of the the potato bomb’s head. They pointed that out after I was done taking the pictures. I had to add them in the end.

Plant vs. Zombies cupcakes

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.