When It Rains It Pours

18 Jul

The best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain.
– Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Me & my kids helping other kids at the U! Happy event

It’s been raining over the land of Coco Cakes. Raining orders I mean. And I want to thank all of you for entrusting me with your celebrations and for giving me the opportunity to do something I absolutely love: making the memorable moments of people sweeter and more beautiful. When I first started offering my cake crafting services, I was a little scared no one would order. I’m not a business woman. I’m a cake artist. What do I know about marketing, and sales, and revenue? But with the encouragement of friends and a lot of praying, I gave it a shot, and the response has been overwhelming.

(If you’d like to see more of the different cakes I’ve been working on you can checkout my Facebook Page.)

Here are some lessons learned from my first few months running Coco Cakes:

1. I Can Do This (and you can too!) – Has anyone ever told you that something was impossible? That you’re too weak, or too ignorant, or unprepared, or incapable of something? Maybe it’s even your own mind telling you this. I was always afraid to start something on my own because I listened to the lies of people who I mistakenly trusted. I’m thankful for supportive friends and family who encouraged me (and keep encouraging me) to work hard and pursue my passion. I’ve realized that, despite the challenges, I can do this, and I can do this well. You can too! I believe you can.

2. This Is A Lot of Work – When people ask me how I manage being a single mom, a baker, and a small business owner, I simply answer by saying, “It’s a lot of work.” And it really does take a lot of work. I’ve grown so much, become a little bit more disciplined, and realized I’m capable of more because I’ve just had so much to juggle. But there are no shortcuts to these things. We have to work. I’ve seen first-hand what shortcuts and lies can do. They only make things worse. There’s no getting around working hard, so might as well appreciate that with our efforts a price will someday be ours.

3. There Is A Lot of Help – There really is. There’s help from family, help from friends old and new, help from the most unexpected places, and most of all, help from above. This help is available to all of us, we just need to be humble enough to admit that we need help and be wise enough to listen to the counsel of others. We don’t have to know all the answers, sometimes it’s enough to know someone who does.

Just wanted to share this before I get back to posting my cakes, and encourage you to keep working hard. If I can succeed, anyone can.

One Response to “When It Rains It Pours”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Believe You Can « Coco Cakes - August 21, 2011

    […] overwhelmed – in a good way. I’m overwhelmed by the orders, by the support, and by all the supportive “likes” and comments you have all been […]

Leave a Reply

