Jewelry Box Cake

25 May

This was another fun project to make.

I used gum paste to make  accessories that I had
imagined a little girl would have in her jewelry box.
I made the box pink because Gabbie loves everything girly. And what’s girlier than pink?
I added gum paste flowers too, to add more color to the already colorful box.
4 Responses to “Jewelry Box Cake”

  1. Tina July 26, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    Have you seen and episode of Cake Boss on TLC? They use a hair dryer to (probably) “smooth-en out” or make the fondant shinier… Have you tried it before?

    • Michelle Teves July 26, 2011 at 9:26 am #

      Hi Tina. Nope I don’t think I’ve watched that show yet. But I think that would work..I saw a video on youtube.com where they used a clothes steamer instead. Do you bake too?

      • Tina July 26, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

        I do, but mostly for the family. I like looking at “artistic” cakes/cupcakes and wish that I’m as good as those bakers (or cupcake-ers) like you. I just don’t have the creativity. I usually watch Cake Boss. 🙂

  2. Michelle Teves July 27, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    I didn’t think I had it in me too. I only found out when I tried. Practice makes perfect 🙂 I’m sure you’ll get better as you bake more. I’ll try to watch Cake Boss too. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

